After some inactivity it goes into some dormant mode. Where it will only consume some storage. The next time someone tries to access this artifact it just restores a snapshot from last working state.
I guess the public url part is working similar to how OpenAI and their Sites are. E.g: their personally only available to you, until you change the sharing options.