upvote
Here is a screenshot of what I'm seeing: https://imgur.com/ciuNwCG

I don't know any of these people, it seems to be rotating through different accounts listed here.

Enough of a reminder to me that Meta is a sprawling surveillance apparatus (now increasingly vibe coded) that has always had a lax attitude toward people's privacy and data. Won't be touching this product based on this experience.

reply
Oh wow, strange.

I think it's invasive enough that they expose your usage of muse to your instagram mutuals without consent. Parts of my circle are very anti-AI and I would not want them to see me mentioned in a 'x, x and x are already on muse' ad on instagram. This example of yours is mind-boggling in an entirely different way

reply
Could it be because you are behind carrier grade NAT and these people share a common IP with you?

I imagine meta wants to make it easy to connect to "your" account in the same house if you have multiple devices.

reply
deleted
reply
Could your account be hacked?
reply
I don’t know how? I don’t have much of a Meta account to speak of, only the one tied to my Quest and that is 2FA to an Authenticator app.

Don’t know how it would cause Meta’s auth to show me other peoples accounts. I looked up some of the people and they seem to be other devs. It obfuscates email addresses but most are in a format that’s not hard to figure out [name] @ [name domain.com]

Just more Meta sloppiness from what I can tell.

reply
Have not used it but try finding in the settings if you are somehow in a GK(gatekeeper which is there A/B testing framework)? there may be an experiment of somekind you might be able to opt out of..
reply
this is a typical meta/facebook/instagram sign-up and log-in UI from the web.

and since dev.meta.ai supports meta account sign-up and log-in for individual users, you'd see this. As for the other accounts, has anyone else used this same browser or laptop before (e.g. shared device), so it must have cached previous sessions or accounts used from the same device.

try to clear the browser cache and session cookies. and it should be gone.

reply
UPDATE:

I've tried selectively enabling and disabling Safari extensions and it seems to be related to the Wipr 2 content blocker.

Removing that. Caution to anyone else who uses it.

Apologies to Meta.

reply
That does not sound plausible at all, wipr is an adblocker. No adblocker should be causing this. If it's spoofing your JS fingerprint and Meta uses that for suggesting accounts, wow would that be ridiculous.
reply
My guess (pure speculation) is that Wipr sets the fingerprint to a well-known value for privacy / anonymization reasons, and Meta is indeed using that to suggest related accounts.
reply
Wasn't something I expected -- seems to be related to having Wipr Extra enabled. Emailed the dev about it and will share if I hear anything back. For now I have it uninstalled and have not experienced this since. Recorded a video of enabling Wipr Extra and the auth page refreshing to show three random people, might be a pain to redact it but I can try to if people really don't believe me.
reply
I’m confused as to how a content blocker could cause this. Could someone more knowledgeable than me elaborate?
reply
Meta is using some fingerprint ID to recommend connecting accounts . - you don’t see the accounts itself(beyond the name ) unless you are able to login verify ownership.

The WIPE/privacy extension developer is using a pre-existing(hard-coded or generated) fingerprint to “mask” the user from meta .

Meta implemented a quality of life feature powered by the ability to set cookies and track you across the web of course and help users with forgotten accounts to unify them - but not a security issue you cannot do anything unless you are proving access governed by standard auth protocols ; the extension developer’s hack to mask created a broken experience because of the reused IDs.

Adblockers can create unintended effects , it is hard to reverse engineer complex platforms like meta and also hard to keep up to date with billion dollar companies code updates by small indie teams of volunteers ; doesn’t mean we shouldn’t use them, just be aware that it may happen when enabled

reply
Good to know. thank you!
reply
It’s my personal laptop that I’ve only ever used and reoccurs after clearing Safari history fully.
reply